Sovereign CD

Sovereign CD

Michael W. Smith

  • $15.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

“Sometimes you’ve just got to shake things up” Michael W. Smith says with a smile. After selling more than 15 million albums scoring 28 No. 1 hits earning three GRAMMYs and more than 40 Dove Awards no one would blame the Christian music icon if he decided to coast just a little bit but that’s just not in his nature.

On Sovereign Smith’s first worship album since 2008 and his first project since signing with Capitol Christian Music Group in 2013 he deliberately steps into a new creative chapter to craft a vibrant collection of vertically focused songs with a fresh sense of musical innovation.

“I feel like it’s a good season” Smith says leaning forward in a comfortable chair in the 1940s Tennessee farmhouse he’s converted into a studio. “I’m pretty passionate. I have lots of energy and I’m probably enjoying making music more than I ever have in my entire life. I’m having fun and I’m excited about this record and this next chapter.”

When it came time to write and record songs for his new album Smith decided to enlist the talents of several young songwriters and producers that he hadn’t collaborated with previously. “I said ‘I’m wide open and I need somebody to push me’” Smith recalls. And he found a willing catalyst in Capitol CMG A&R ace Chris York. “Chris said ‘Why don’t you write with this person? Why don’t we get this producer?’ I said ‘Okay I’ll get out of my comfort zone and try it’ and it’s been awesome! There’s new blood new territory new people. I’m freer. I’m willing to take some risks.

Track List:

  1. You Won't Let Go
  2. Heaven Come Down
  3. Miracle
  4. Sky Spills Over
  5. All Arise
  6. You Are the Fire
  7. Christ Be All Around Me
  8. Sovereign Over Us
  9. Hide Myself
  10. The Same Power
  11. I Lay Me Down
  12. The One That Really Matters

We Also Recommend